The Journal

The Acorn: Philosophical Studies in Pacifism and Nonviolence is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal devoted to the philosophical examination of the theory and practice of activism, nonviolence, organizing, pacifism, and resistance, especially related to examples such as M. K. Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., Cesar Chavez, or Jane Addams.

Established in 1986 by Ha Poong Kim, and edited for many years by Barry L. Gan, The Acorn is today published biannually with the support of Texas State University.

Subscriptions to the online journal, with access to “Online First” previews and archives of past issues, may be accessed at the Philosophy Documentation Center at: https://www.pdcnet.org/acorn/The-Acorn

A limited-edition print copy is also available via donation. Please contact the Editor via rm95-at-txstate-dot-edu for pricing and payment information.

Subscribers to The Acorn are invited to become members of The Gandhi, King, Chavez, Addams Society (The Society) on an “opt-in” basis. The Society is affiliated with the American Philosophical Association.

last updated Dec. 2, 2021

The Team

Following is the current editorial team of The Acorn. The Editor and Associate Editors also serve as the governing board for The Society.


Greg Moses

Associate Editors

Sanjay Lal

Anthony Sean Neal

José-Antonio Orosco

Gail Presbey

Editorial Board

Doug Allen

Will Barnes

Robert Birt

Predrag Cicovacki

Kim Diaz

Sahar Heydari Fard

Jennifer Fenton

Andrew Fiala

Carlo Filice

Charles Fink

Marilyn Fischer

Andrew Fitz-Gibbon

Bill Gay

Fuat Gursozlu

Tom Hastings

Myron Jackson

Jeff Shawn Jose

Jennifer Kling

Court Lewis

Krishna Mani Pathak

Dwayne Tunstall

Legacy Editors

Ha Poong Kim

Barry L. Gan